top of page


Dr. Ben Yee-Paulson is an internationally-recognized composer, and a passionate educator and pianist. A Boston native, his music seeks inspiration from a global array of musical and non-musical places to create a deeply personal experience.

His music has been performed across the United States, United Kingdom, France, Belgium, Canada, Mexico, and Taiwan. His music is also premiered in venues like Carnegie Hall, Jordan Hall, La Schola Cantorum in Paris, the DiMenna Center, and the world opening of Microsoft’s flagship store in New York City. Nationally, Yee-Paulson’s music won the Costello Competition, both a Merit Award and “Emerging Composer” status from the Tribeca New Music Festival, and finalist position from the ASCAP Morton Gould Competition multiple times. Internationally, he received honorable mention in the Future Blend Competition, and was a semi-finalist in the Tampa Bay Symphony’s Competition. He was a composer-in-residence at the Lake George Music Festival, the Choral Arts Initiative, the Zodiac Music Festival in France, and at DePaul University with Ensemble Del Niente. His music is played in academic institutions like Harvard University, the Curtis Institute, New England Conservatory, and Indiana University. He is represented by the Grammy-Award winning company PARMA Recordings.


Yee-Paulson’s music is played by ensembles like the American Modern Ensemble, Ensemble Del Niente, Choral Arts Initiative, American Modern Orchestra, NEC Contemporary Ensemble, NEC Saxophone Ensemble, IU Concert Orchestra, and the New York Youth Symphony. His music is performed by artists like Grammy-nominated cellist Thomas Mesa, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra violinist Chelsea Kim, and internationally-acclaimed harpist Abigail Kent. Other performances occurred at the Celebrity Series of Boston, European American Musical Alliance, Bard Conductor’s Institute, Atlantic Music Festival, Zodiac Music Festival, Mostly Modern Festival, International Horn Symposium in Belgium, and Charlotte New Music Festival. His first dance work, Blue Night, was premiered by the IU Ballet.

Photography by Alyssa Wang © 2021

Yee-Paulson has a Doctor of Music degree at IU, and studied with Han Lash, Don Freund, Aaron Travers, and Claude Baker. He was faculty at Indiana University’s Composition Academy, and also works as a Concert Stage Manager of New England Conservatory. He also was an Adjunct Instructor in Music in General Studies and an Associate Instructor in Music Theory at IU. He has a Master of Music from NEC, where he studied with Michael Gandolfi, Kati Agócs, and a Bachelor of Music from New York University, where he studied with Justin Dello Joio.

bottom of page